Create your free account now! Sign up

Tell me what I don't know?

TL;DR: 

1.How much is any of this worth? (Price list and range) 

2. How far is too far, and what should you be compensated for distance? 

3. How much of this is wrong, and just downright illegal? 

4. Where do you find proper and competent training, that doesn't leave you financially crippled while you do it? 

5. Insurance and taxes? Someone is lying, what's the truth? 

Good morning!

Looking for veterans of the industry that are willing to share some wisdom and history! You can respond here, or we can trade info so we can communicate somewhere else if you want. 

I've been doing this type of work for roughly 4 years, and I've noticed the post and general conversation here and elsewhere, that things are getting worse for contractors and subcontractors? I'm largely unaware of what "better" Is, and would like to know more! 

I understand the rates are much lower in certain areas, there used to be a union apparently that I have no knowledge of, and just from working in this industry myself and talking to other tradesmen, the tactics and practices of the primes have diminished greatly?! 

I started out subcontracting residential coax burial. I know what the rates are currently in my area, or at least I think I do?! I have no idea about any time period before me, and some of the younger guys just starting, are signing up for some bs?! Both in pay and requirements. 

Are there no checks and balances? What's driving rates? Also, training?