Create your free account now! Sign up

The contractor life

I have been an independent contractor for 20 plus years in the CATV world. As with any job, there are always ups and downs but I have never regretted one bit of it. Here's a look back at some of the things some or all of you have experienced while being a CATV contractor.

"Unprofessionalism in the workplace"

Being self employed definitely has some perks. Cable wasn't my only interest, there were other side gigs I did. Back in the early 2000's I had an audio / visual gig going on when flat screen tv's were really starting to hit... remember plasma tv's? I was running around hanging tv's all over the place. I was young and didn't mind working those 20 hours days. I did learn a lot along the way, it's a bit different when you're the one quoting out the job and offering the finished product. There were a few important lessons learned but one of them stands out and that is how to quote the job correctly...

You're running your own ship. Figuring out how much time it would take to do the job, where the job is located, scheduling it, getting materials... all of these things should be running through your head before you give out that magic number. I wasn't a company man, I'm running my own truck, packing my own tools, forking out insurance payments you name it, so i'm going to figure out how to make a little change, making it worth my while instead of paying to work. Eventually I picked up on it, and did pretty good.