Create your free account now! Sign up

How do we fix it?

Everyday all day there are threads on here about how bad company x, y, and z are, how you can't make any money, how they work you to the bone, etc.  I have spent over 15 years in the installation business in every capacity, including owner of a prime. I am not in the business now, but I still get on here out of curiosity and it's hard to get it out of your system after being around it for so long.  From an installer's perspective I don't disagree with many (most) of the negative comments, I have made most of them myself; from an owner's perspective, I have been in situations where the installers were not treated as good as they should have been, the only thing I can say is that it is helpful to understand all sides.  Coming from being an installer, I knew what I wanted to do as an owner to create a positive work environment, and in many way's I was successful....but in the end the MSO will break you one way or another.  I tried to not pass any charge-back's on to the tech's, but eventually that became to much.  I tried to keep them at reasonable hours, even 5 days when possible, but with turnover and pressure for numbers from the MSO that also did not go as planned.  I usually kept a pretty good rapport with my installers and managed to make a little money, but ended up getting out of the business because it was making me be a person I didn't want to be.